• Book an appointment using SetMore

Testimonials

five stars

We strive to provide every patient with the highest level of personal service and care. Read what our patients are saying about their experience with Dr. Gombera

-Julie Zarate | Mar 27, 2018

I couldn't be more pleased with the treatment I received with Dr. Gombera and his staff. He was very kind, understanding, professional, and was sympathetic to my injury. He took the time to explain my options, the prognosis and referred me to an associate for further details. I would definitely recommend him.

-Will Orellana | Feb 17, 2018

Dr. Gombera is a miracle healer. I had my left knee scoped and within two days I was walking pretty much pain free, the thing of it is, I've had two previous surgeries on the same knee before, with a different orthopedic surgeon that is, and both times surgeries had been unsuccessful. Thank you so much Doctor Gombera!

-Dennis | Feb 8, 2018

Dr. Gombera is truly one of the best. I suffered with a misdiagnosed hip issue for many years. Within 5 minutes of my first office visit he had a diagnosis that he later accurately confirmed and we scheduled the necessary surgery. He was thorough, competent, and took the time to fully explain the entire process. I am glad I had the surgery as it was Dr. Gombera that performed it. I am almost totally recovered. Give the circumstances again, I would not hesitate to trust him. He is truly great!

-Don Roe | Jan 12, 2018

Dr. Gombera is awesome. He repaired my hip labral tear ans recovery time was minimal. To the point and explains in detail. Can't thank him enough.

-Amy Weber | Jan 03, 2018

After seeing 3 other orthopedist I found Dr. Gombera. He is straight forward, to the point and I trust him completely. I highly recommend Dr. Gombera and his entire staff.

-Deanie Bruess | Nov 28, 2017

Dr. Gombera is TOPS! After five months of pain in my knee, now my life has returned to normal -- pain free. Thank you, Dr. Gombera! He and his staff are professional, caring and put me at ease with my knee problem. I highly recommend him -- and have already to my friends and associates.

-Anonymous | Nov 15, 2017

My sister recently had knee surgery with Dr. Gombera and he made her and our family feel as if she was his only patient. He is incredibly patient and listened intently to all of our concerns. We always felt well informed and continue to recommend him to our family and friends.

-John J Ehlig | Oct 28, 2017

After having the injury, there was no time for "Doctor choice" decisions and Dr Gombera was available - so he was the choice. From the first meeting until the last, he was always pleasant, friendly, professional, interested, informative. The surgery itself seems to have been successful - and thus he deserves high marks for his skills as well. I wish him the best of luck. Texas Orthopedics Hospital & Staff were all excellent (as expected from the reviews).

-Juzer Yamani | Oct 22, 2017

While visiting us in Houston, my mother in-law was experiencing some joint pain and contacted Dr. Gombera for a consultation. She was so impressed and felt so confident and comfortable with his diagnosis and treatment plan that she now travels to Houston just to see him and follow his treatment plan. Thank you for excellent service and continued support. We appreciate it!

-Debbie Boedeker | Aug 23, 2017

My care was excellent. Dr. G. really impressed me the first time i met him; he actually listened without interrupting while actually looking at ME not his I Pad or whatever. I felt completely confident in him and his ability to take care of me. he explained everything beautifully and answered all my questions, no matter how insignificant they may have been Great smile, great skill, great surgeon. I am an RN.

-Blanca D R | Jul 18, 2017

I am Blessed to finally find a professional who truly cares for his patients, and strives to make sure he has done all he can. Dr. Gombera is a breath of fresh air! I will forever be in his debt, and I will go to him, and his hospital for all my orthopedic needs! Thank you Dr. Gombera!

-Maria Antonieta Gomez | Jun 09, 2017

I am so happy that I chose dr Gombera thanks to the referral of my friend ,PT Oriana Guzman. He is somebody that genuinely cares about his patients, doesn't force the idea of surgery, listens to our needs and concerns and is definitely somebody I can trust with my health. Thank you Dr Gombera for a successful knee repairs

-Debby Parker | May 25, 2017

I had surgery for a torn meniscus in my right knee. Dr. Gombera advised me to pursue all options before having surgery. When the injury began to restrict my activities, we decided to do surgery. It was an excellent experience. I walked with no assistance immediately after the surgery. The doctor was very attentive during my appointments. He answered all questions to my satisfaction. I find the whole organization very efficient. My outpatient surgery was at 9:00 a.m. and I was home (1.5 hours away) by 2:00 p.m.

-Amie James | May 15, 2017

Excellent bedside manner, thorough discussion explaining what he feels is best for me and why, quick responses and test scheduling. Unfortunately, I ended up needing a hip replacement, but Dr. Gombera's willingness to try to save my hip made my acceptance of the ultimate decision much easier. I felt like he was always there to represent my interests as a patient.

-Yusuf Hassanali | May 10, 2017

Had ACL reconstruction 3 weeks ago. Dr Mufaddal did an amazing job as I was off my crutches and walking in 2 days. He will always be available to answer all your post op rehab questions. I would highly recommend him to anyone who has to go through this procedure including all the professional athletes. To all the Houston professional sports teams we got our own James Andrews at fondren orthopedics!!

-Mary Blackwell | Apl 20, 2017

I had hip and groin pain for 3 years. During those 3 years I consulted more than 8 doctors. Even after physical therapy, steroid injections I received temporary relief. I was misdiagnosed twice. I almost gave up to live with the pain, but I didn't. I researched doctors who did arthroscopic surgery of the hip. I believe God led me to Dr. Gombera. For the first time I had a doctor who wanted to hear what I had to say. He ordered an MRI with contrast and finally he saw what had been causing my pain-a torn labrum. After the surgery I had almost no pain from the surgical site. He will be my Orthopedic doctor for life. He is a kind, sweet, warm and very caring man. Thank you doctor.

-Michael OBrien | Apl 05, 2017

Dr. Gombera is one of the greatest orthopedic surgeons in the Houston area. I went to see him after having hip pain and a pain in my inner thigh/groin area that wouldn’t go away for months. His office is very easy to get into and I was able to make an appointment within days (compared to other doctors at Texas Orthopedic who take weeks/months before you can get an appointment). He has excellent bedside manner and explained all of my options (surgical and non-surgical) and truly took the time to make sure I understood all of my options. We went the conservative approach of NSAID’s and physical therapy for a few weeks but after no improvement in my pain level, we decided that I would need an arthroscopic procedure to repair a torn labrum, and fix a hip impingement in my left hip. I had surgery in December 2016, and from the moment I came out of surgery I knew that it was the right choice. I did all of my recommended physical therapy and today (May 2017) I went back for my 6th month post-op appointment and can happily say I am pain free and am able to do everything that I was able to do, before the labrum tear. He couldn’t have been nicer, and my only regret is that I didn’t find out about him sooner. He does hips, knees, and shoulders... So far I’ve only need his services for my hip but I wouldn’t hesitate to return for his expertise if anything happened. Also, the wait time is the lowest I’ve experience with any doctor at Texas Orthopedic. I was always taken to the back on-time or before my appointment time, and never had to wait longer than 5-10 minutes after my scheduled appointment time before he was in the exam room.

-Ummehani Yamani | Mar 19, 2017

Recently accompanied my mother to Dr Gombera's clinic. Everyone, from the clinic staff to Dr Gombera himself, took care of everything and made sure that my mom was comfortable and her road to recovery was quick and pain free!

-Early Denison | Dec 16, 2016

Dr. Gombera is a skilled surgeon with a wonderful bedside manner--- a true gentleman. I would recommend him to anyone. My recovery from shoulder surgery was long and difficult but it was exactly what he told me to expect.

-Early | Nov 23, 2016

He is a skilled surgeon with a wonderful bedside manner. I would recommend him to anyone with shoulder problems. He told me exactly what to expect and how long it would take to rehab he was right on.

-Sonya P in Woodlands TX | Oct 10, 2016

I highly recommend Dr. Gombera. I had a labral tear of my hip and not many doctors perform arthroscopic surgery of the hip, but after much research I found Dr. Gombera and Texas Orthopedic Hospital. The surgery was a great success and my recovery is going great! A huge thank you to Dr. Gombera and staff!

-Christopher Eddy | Mar 18, 2016

It has now been 5 months since Dr. Gombera surgically repaired my torn labrum and resolved the impingement in my hip. Dr. Vasilios Matthews recommended him as an expert for labrum repairs and I am very happy with the result which has dramatically changed the amount of pain that I feel. I am now able to sit comfortably at work to do my job and I am looking forward to a full return to the various physical activities that I enjoy. I found Dr. Gombera to be pleasant, jovial, patient, positive, and knowledgeable regarding my questions before and after the surgery.

He took time to explain himself well and it was obvious that he truly cared about the health and welfare of me as a patient and individual. He was never disrespectful or pushy regarding the treatment choices that I had available. He simply explained the options available, answered my questions, and then gave me the space to make my own choices. He was even kind enough to call me at my office to answer a series of questions that I had a few weeks after my surgery.His staff, such as his assistant Chantel Jefferson, was also very courteous and responsive to questions I posed. I would highly encourage anyone considering similar hip surgery to consider Dr. Gombera and the Texas Orthopedic Hospital.

-Jacque Elliott in Deer Park, TX | Jan 26, 2016

I have felt at ease with Dr Gombera from day one. He has treated Team Jacque with respect. Would recommend to family and friends.

-Justin in Houston, TX | Jan 18, 2016

I was referred to Dr. Gombera through another physician in the practice and he has been fabulous. Dr. Gombera really took the time to explain everything from test results to treatment plan in depth and answered questions thoroughly. Both he and his assistant were awesome with getting scans approved as well as surgery with my insurance. They kept me updated every step of the way and communicated everything. Highly recommend Dr. Gombera!

-Kelley Passman in Houston Texas | Jan 16, 2016

I came to see Dr Gombera because of knee pain. He is very communicative and has great bedside manner.

-Tracy in Houston, Tx | Jan 14, 2016

I was referred to Dr. Gombera by another doctor in his practice. He was able to diagnose what was wrong very quickly and accurately. My condition has significantly improved. When I aggravated the injury later, he was easy to work with when I called back for a refill on meds and to figure out what the next course of action was. I'd definitely recommend him.

-Joe Marshall in Nederlandtexss | Jan 14, 2016

Very well organized office and extremely patient orientated

-Cheryl Cormier in Groves, Tx | Jan 14, 2016

He is a wonderful Doctor. Will and have recommended him to everyone I know. I cannot Thank him enough for getting my husband back to walking again.

-Laura C in Houston, TX | Jan 13, 2016

One of the best physicians I've come across and I've seen many over the years. Very professional and knowledgeable. His bedside manner is wonderful and he will take the time to explain and answer all questions. He makes you feel comfortable and listens to what you have to say. Another huge plus is that he's funny and has a good sense of humor. A laid-back approach and will do what he can to help. Highly Recommended.

Google Reviews Healthgrades Reviews Vitals Reviews Facebook reviews

Google Reviews

If you're interested in submitting a testimonial for Dr. Gombera, please use the form below to do so.

Thanks!

AAOS The American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine AANA american shoulder and elbow society international society for hip arthroscopy